Categories abbreviations used: Contemp (Contemporary, Series, Category romance), ER (Erotic Romance), FFTP (Futuristic / Time-Travel, Fantasy, Paranormal), HF (Historical Fiction), HR (Historical Romance), MS (Mainstream), Mys / Sus (Mystery / Suspense), NA (New Adult), NSRE (Novel with Strong Romantic Elements), Para (Paranormal), RC (Romantic Comedy), RE (Romantic Elements), RS (Romantic Suspense), ST (Single Title), Sci-Fi (Science Fiction), YA (Young Adult).
Contests for published works show "Type" in this color.

Current Contests

It is with regret that I am announcing today, May 1, 2019, that I will no longer maintain this page. I will leave it up until the below-listed contests have passed the submission deadlines currently noted. I'll also be removing the "Contests with Deadlines that have Passed" page, so if there is information there that you want, I suggest you copy it prior to August 30. I apologize for any inconvenience this causes, but I just don't have the time to keep this up.

Disclaimer: This website owner is not responsible for misinformation or fraudulent practices on the part of any contest organization, and the listing of these contests does not constitute an endorsement. Please do your own homework.
Click here for contests with deadlines that have passed

Sponsor / Org Contest Type Eligibility Dates EntryFeeSubmissionCategories / Judges Awards
Mid-America Romance Authors The Carla - Crown Jewel of Books Romance Novel Book self-published or traditionally published with original copyright date of 2018 Submission deadline July 1, 2019; winners announced ~Nov 15 3 perfect-bound copies of book $25 via PayPal or check Email and postal mail Judges are Midwest readers incl. participating librarians, book clubs. Categories: Category series, Contemp ST, HR, RS, Para, ER, YA/NA, Inspirational. Final judge by a bookseller. 1st place book receives $100 prize, trophy, publicity on the MARA website, twitter, Facebook page and in the RWR. Finalists receive a Finalist Certificate.
Reedsy Reedsy Short Story Contest Short Story Anyone can enter July 5, 2019 (this is a weekly contest, so every Friday) Short story of 1,000 - 3,000 words. Subscribe to their newsletter to receive 5 wriitng prompts every Friday. Free email Reedsy editors are assumed to be judging. $50 possible win